Click to Skip Ad
Closing in...

Instagram gave Taylor Swift an exclusive feature to celebrate her new album

Published Apr 16th, 2024 8:10PM EDT
Taylor Swift performs at the Taylor Swift "The Eras Tour" held at Allegiant Stadium on March 24, 2023 in Las Vegas, Nevada.
Image: Christopher Polk/Penske Media via Getty Images

If you buy through a BGR link, we may earn an affiliate commission, helping support our expert product labs.

Later this week, Taylor Swift will release her highly-anticipated new album, The Tortured Poets Department. The album will be on sale and streaming wherever you get your music on April 19, but Swift hasn’t given fans any songs to tide them over while they wait. Thankfully, social media is helping to pick up the slack with a few fun easter eggs, including an exclusive new feature on Taylor Swift’s Instagram profile that we haven’t seen anywhere else before.

As spotted by Billboard, head to Swift’s profile on Instagram on your phone and pull down from the top of the screen. Keep pulling past the spinning wheel, and a fitting Writing Hand emoji will suddenly appear above. Pull down even more, and you’ll see “The Tortured Poets Department.” Let go, and a timer will appear, counting down to the release date.

Here’s a quick look from X if you don’t want to find the new feature yourself:

Unsurprisingly, Meta has also taken the obvious opportunity to push Swifties to use Threads by including a link to download the app on the countdown.

According to Billboard, posting with the tags #TTPD, #The Tortured Poets Department, #Tortured Poets, #TSTTPD, #Swifties, or #Taylor Swift will create a shimmer effect, and liking any post with those tags will make white hearts shoot out from the bottom of the screen.

We haven’t heard anything from The Tortured Poets Department yet, but we do have a tracklist:

  1. Fortnight [ft. Post Malone]
  2. The Tortured Poets Department
  3. My Boy Only Breaks His Favorite Toys
  4. Down Bad
  5. So Long, London
  6. But Daddy I Love Him
  7. Fresh Out the Slammer
  8. Florida!!! [ft. Florence and the Machine]
  9. Guilty as Sin?
  10. Who’s Afraid of Little Old Me?
  11. I Can Fix Him (No Really I Can)
  12. LOML
  13. I Can Do It With a Broken Heart
  14. The Smallest Man Who Ever Lived
  15. The Alchemy
  16. Clara Bow
  17. The Manuscript (Bonus Track)

You can listen to the whole album on Friday, April 19, along with everyone else.

Jacob Siegal
Jacob Siegal Associate Editor

Jacob Siegal is Associate Editor at BGR, having joined the news team in 2013. He has over a decade of professional writing and editing experience, and helps to lead our technology and entertainment product launch and movie release coverage.