Most internet users will probably not be affected by Comcast’s decision to roll out its data caps to more markets. But those people who consume a lot of media of the high-definition streaming variety and console games may find ways to surpass that 1TB monthly cap.

DON’T MISS: After buying 9 Android smartphones in a row, this Android fan switched to the iPhone 7

It sounds like a lot of monthly traffic, and for the average user, it probably is. But households with multiple internet users who do a lot of streaming of 4K video and PlayStation/Xbox game may feel the burn.

What happens if you go over that cap? For the first two times in a period of 12 months, there will be no overages. But the third time you go over your allowance, you’re going to be charged $10 for an additional 50GB of data to a maximum of 200GB of extra data. You will be able to monitor your data consumption and set alerts to tell you when you reach a certain threshold.

Comcast says that you can do a log with a terabyte of data each month — that’s what its press release is about. The company says that more than 99% of its subscribers do not use 1TB of data in any given month and that its data plans are based on a “principle of fairness.” There are many Comcast users who will probably not agree with the company’s definition of fairness.

That said, if you’re a Xfinity subscriber in the following markets, you’re already on a capped data plan: Alabama (excluding the Dothan market); Arizona; Arkansas; Florida (Fort Lauderdale, the Keys, and Miami); Georgia (excluding Southeastern Georgia); Illinois; Northern Indiana; Kentucky; Louisiana; Maine; Southwestern Michigan; Mississippi; Tennessee; Eastern Texas; South Carolina; and Southwest Virginia.

On November 1st, the 1TB data cap is hitting the following markets: Alabama (Dothan); California; Colorado; Florida (North Florida, Southwest Florida and West Palm); Southeastern Georgia; Idaho; Indiana (Indianapolis and Central Indiana; Fort Wayne and Eastern Indiana); Kansas; Michigan (Grand Rapids/Lansing, Detroit, and Eastern Michigan); Minnesota; Missouri; New Mexico; Western Ohio; Oregon; Texas (Houston); Utah; Washington; and Wisconsin.

Chris Smith started writing about gadgets as a hobby, and before he knew it he was sharing his views on tech stuff with readers around the world. Whenever he's not writing about gadgets he miserably fails to stay away from them, although he desperately tries. But that's not necessarily a bad thing.