Click to Skip Ad
Closing in...

Relax, Facebook isn’t accidentally exposing old private messages

Updated Dec 19th, 2018 8:36PM EST
BGR

If you buy through a BGR link, we may earn an affiliate commission, helping support our expert product labs.

Facebook (FB) confirmed on Thursday that reports of users seeing old private messages displayed as public wall posts are incorrect. A Facebook spokesman told TechCrunch that users are confusing old public Wall posts as old private messages because “before 2009 there were no likes and no comments on wall posts. People went back and forth with wall posts instead of having a conversation [in the comments of single wall post].” The issues appears to have stemmed from the global rollout of Timeline. Facebook says it has conducted its own investigation and “is satisfied that there has been no breach of user privacy.” Despite Facebook’s official statements denying the reports, users are still reporting that their old messages are being exposed for all their friends to see. For those worried, TheNextWeb offers some advice on how to remove all old posts (public or private) from Timeline.

Read

Raymond Wong is a technology reporter with a passion for cutting-edge gadgets and clean design. His writing has appeared on DVICE, Ubergizmo, G4TV, Yahoo News, NBC blogs. You might even have seen his videos on Xbox LIVE.

\