For many people, Valentine’s Day is a bitter reminder of failed past relationships. But now those people have a way to more easily forget about their heartaches by removing all pictures and status updates featuring their ex from their Facebook (FB) profiles. Business Insider reports on a new smartphone app called KillSwitch that will identify a “‘target’ from your list of Facebook friends” and “will then find every photo, status update, and post related to you and the individual and will wipe all traces from Facebook without them finding out.”
KillSwitch doesn’t permanently delete all past reminders of your love but instead puts them into a separate folder that users can access at a later time if they want. KillSwitch cofounders Erica Mannherz and Clara De Soto told Business Insider that they didn’t want to permanently delete photos because they “don’t see KillSwitch as a vindictive tool but part of a greater healing process.”
The app launches Thursday on both iOS and Android.