Click to Skip Ad
Closing in...
  1. Surge Protector Amazon
    15:01 Deals

    Brilliant $30 Amazon find expands a power outlet without an ugly power strip

  2. Screwdriver Set Amazon
    13:47 Deals

    Amazon shoppers rave about this 22-in-1 screwdriver set that’s down to $18 today

  3. Kasa Smart Home Sale
    12:05 Deals

    Amazon’s massive Kasa smart home sale has deeper discounts than Prime Day

  4. Best Beach Towels For Sand
    09:02 Deals

    You’ll never go to the beach again without this $17 Amazon find from a viral TikTok

  5. Amazon Deals
    10:12 Deals

    Today’s top deals: $50 soundbar, Alexa in your car for $20, $90 Ring Doorbell 2, $23…




Having second thoughts? Here’s how to unsend Instagram Direct messages

Zach Epstein
December 16th, 2013 at 7:45 PM
How To Unsend Instagram Direct

At a press conference last week, Instagram unveiled a new feature for its mobile apps called Instagram Direct. With messaging apps having been identified as the next big thing du jour, Instagram finally decided it was time to get in on the action. Instagram Direct is a private messaging service built into Instagram’s existing mobile apps, meaning after a simple update, almost every Instagram user out there has instant access to the service. Users can send photos and videos privately, and then exchange text messages from within the app as well. But what happens when you inevitably have second thoughts after sharing a photo or video privately? Luckily, “unsending” an Instagram Direct message could not be easier.

As noted in a quick guide put together by Business Insider, deleting a photo or video sent via Instagram Direct only takes a few simple steps. It should be noted, however, that you’ll have to be quick about it — messages can be deleted at any time but it obviously only matters if you delete them before your recipient opens them.

In a nutshell, to delete an Instagram Direct photo or video simply open the message and tap the ellipsis next to the comment field under the photo or video. Then tap “Delete this post” and confirm your intentions in the dialog box that pops up.

That’s it.

Your recipient will have already received a notification that you sent him or her a message, but it will not be accessible if you delete it before he or she opens it. Also of note, once deleted, the relevant photo or video will be removed from your Instagram Direct outbox but it will still be present in your camera roll.

Zach Epstein

Zach Epstein has worked in and around ICT for more than 15 years, first in marketing and business development with two private telcos, then as a writer and editor covering business news, consumer electronics and telecommunications. Zach’s work has been quoted by countless top news publications in the US and around the world. He was also recently named one of the world's top-10 “power mobile influencers” by Forbes, as well as one of Inc. Magazine's top-30 Internet of Things experts.




Popular News