Uber is rolling out a new feature to its mobile app that can be quite helpful but also somewhat creepy: it will now let you track friends and family in real time as they’re taking Uber rides.

DON’T MISS: Bionic eye restores man’s vision after being blind for 40 years

The new safety feature works through Uber’s Family Profile, so you have to set it up to take advantage of real-time tracking. Called Trip Tracker, the feature provides automatic notifications and the ability to follow along on the map when someone in your Family Profile is taking an Uber.

That way, if you’re concerned about the safety or whereabouts of family members (or obsessively stalking your significant other), you’ll be able to monitor each of their Uber trips. This is how it will look in action:

uber-trip-trackerImage Source: Uber

Trip tracker also helps you keep tabs on Uber spending under Family Profiles. The cost of the ride you’re tracking is billed to you automatically, and you will receive a copy of the receipt in addition to the rider.

To enable it on your device, make sure you’ve got the latest version of the app installed, and then set up your Family Profile.

Trip Tracker won’t let you track anyone’s trips on your phone unless they’re included in your Family Profile. If you want to track other people via Uber, you’ll have to use a different app feature called Share my ETA. Unlike Trip Tracker, Share my ETA only works if the person in the car decides to share their location with you.

View Comments