You’re probably sharing your Netflix account with your loved ones, exes, and their best friends’ dads. There’s really nothing wrong with that and Netflix doesn’t care. But what Netflix does care about is where its content is seen. That’s why you absolutely must check who’s using your account and where they’re located. You should also remember that Netflix credentials are one of the cheapest commodities on the dark web, with accounts selling for less than $1 a pop.

DON’T MISS: Apple Maps might be getting one of the best Google Maps features

We have already told you how to fix your account in case you suspect hackers have sold it online and that process remains unchanged. Simply log into Netflix using an Internet browser, click on your account icon in the top right corner and then select Your account, scroll down to My profile, and then click Viewing activity.

A window showing your most recent binging sessions will pop out, but we’re not interested in that. It’s here that you have to click on See recent account access to actually see who’s using your account and where they’re based – check out this example from Tech Insider.

netflix-account-access-hackImage Source: Tech Insider

As you can see, not only does Netflix tell you the exact date and time someone used your Netflix credentials, but it also shows you where they’re based and what device you’re using.

If you were hacked, you need to go to Settings next (still in Your account) and then click on Sign out of all devices. Then, you need to change your Netflix password.

But that won’t be enough to be sure hackers won’t get you again. You’ll also need to make sure your computers and personal data are secured, and that third parties do not have access to them – that’s easier said than done, though. On the other hand, it might be one your friends whose computer was hacked, and that might be why hackers are selling your Netflix account on the dark web.

If you were not hacked, you’ll see whether any of your acquaintances are using Netflix abroad, in which case you might still want to revoke their access simply to protect your account from Netflix’s increased anti-VPN policing. After all, you don’t want your account on Netflix’s naughty list when it comes to VPN abuse.

View Comments