We’ve all written emails in the heat of the moment that we’ve regretted the minute we pressed “send.” The good news is that Gmail now has a feature that will let you quickly erase your hastily written hate mail with just one click.

FROM EARLIER: I’ve been an Android user for 5 years – here’s why I’m very tempted to switch to iOS

The Undo Send feature is something that Google first talked about implementing on its Inbox app late last year. However, you can now try it out for yourself on regular old Gmail by following these simple steps.

  • First, click on the gear icon in Gmail and click on Settings.

gmail-undo-send-screenshot-1

  • While in Settings, scroll over to the Labs tab that houses Google’s experimental new Gmail features. Then scroll down until you see the Undo Send feature.

gmail-undo-send-screenshot-2

  • You’ll want to Enable this feature and then click Save Settings at the bottom of the page. Now when you send a nasty message like this one…

gmail-undo-send-screenshot-3

  • …you’ll be see an option at the top of the screen that will let you undo this action, similar to the option that pops up every time you delete a message.

Gmail-undo-send-screenshot-4

  • Click “Undo” and voila: Your message will disappear from the recipient’s inbox.

It goes without saying that we wish this feature had been around years ago since it would have saved us from countless communications blunders. Still, it’s better late than never and we’re glad to see this feature implemented.

View Comments