Dish Network-owned Sling TV was among the first in a new generation of streaming-only television services. While companies like Netflix and Hulu have long offered streaming movies and TV shows on demand, Sling was one of the first to pipe live network TV over the internet and offer it to people without a subscription to a pay TV service. Competition in the space is heating up, so Sling will attempt to woo customers this weekend with a special offer: Any and all new customers can stream unlimited Sling TV to their TVs, computers and mobile devices all weekend long, for free.

Beginning on Saturday morning at 9:00 am EST / 6:00 am PST and ending Monday morning at 3:00 am EST / 12:00 am PST, new customers will be able to stream unlimited live TV through Sling TV. The free preview covers the “Sling Orange” bundle, which includes more than 30 TV channels such as ESPN, ESPN 2, ESPN 3, AMC, CNN, The Disney Channel, TNT and Comedy Central.

The Orange package normally costs $20 per month, and a slightly more expensive “Sling Blue” package adds 18 other channels but removes all ESPN channels, The Disney Channel and Free Form. A “Sling Orange + Blue” plan includes all available non-premium channels for $40 per month. Premium movie channel bundles like HBO and Cinemax can be added to any plan a la carte.

Of note, the Orange plan covered in this weekend’s free preview includes AMC, which means user who take advantage of the promotion will be able to watch The Walking Dead mid-season premiere on AMC at 9:00 pm EST on Sunday.

Users can sign up for the free Sling TV preview on the company’s website at sling.com/watchfree. Sling TV also plans to offer free previews of its HBO and Starz bundles later this month, but exact timing has not yet been announced.

View Comments