Click to Skip Ad
Closing in...

The complete history of Mac OS X gets broken down in one brilliant illustrated guide

December 5th, 2014 at 9:05 PM
Apple Mac OS X History

Want to see how OS X has evolved over the years? If so then you should check out this complete guide posted over at Git-Tower that uses well done cartoons to illustrate all of the different giant cats that Apple has used to define its platforms over the years, from Cheetah to Leopard to Mountain Lion.

RELATED: Watch the iPhone’s entire evolution unfold in one mesmerizing GIF

In addition to showing you a neat cartoon illustration of each OS X version’s nickname, the guide also breaks down the key additions that Apple added with each new iteration.

Jaguar, for instance, we the first version of OS X to include iChat and Address Book, while Panther brought Apple’s Safari browser on board for the first time in 2003. 2007, meanwhile, added support for 64-bit applications for the first time with Leopard, while iCloud made its debut on OS X in 2011 with the release of Lion.

Apple stopped using giant felines to name OS X in 2013 when it launched Mavericks, a convention that it upheld this year with the launch of Yosemite.

Taken as a whole, the guide shows how OS X has really been through a long evolution to get to where it is today. Check it out by clicking the source link below.

Popular News