Click to Skip Ad
Closing in...

Every Raid Boss discovered in Pokemon Go so far, and how to beat them

June 26th, 2017 at 1:32 PM
Pokemon Go Raid Boss tier list

With the first anniversary of Pokemon Go swiftly approaching, developer Niantic has been hard at work on several massive updates for the record-breaking mobile game. We began to see the fruits of its labor last week when Raid Battles were added to the game alongside the highly-anticipated gym overhaul. Raid Battles occur when a Boss Pokemon takes over a Gym. Up to 20 trainers can cooperate to beat the boss, which will give them the chance to catch the boss and collect rare items from the Gym.

But before you go rushing out to take on a Raid Boss, you should probably know what you’re up against.

There are currently five tiers of difficulty in Pokemon Go Raid Battles. Tiers 1 and 2 are represented by pink eggs on top of gyms, tiers 3 and 4 will hatch from a yellow egg and tier 5 will supposedly come in the form of a dark egg. While the feature has only just been introduced and there is still plenty we don’t know, Pokemon Go Hub has put together a running list of the Boss Pokemon in each tier. Below, we’ve listed all of them alongside their corresponding weaknesses so that you’ll know how to beat them:

Raid Boss Boss CP Tier Egg Weakness
Magikarp 1165 1 Pink Electric, Grass
Bayleef 4375 1 Pink Fire
Quilava 5085 1 Pink Rock, Water
Croconaw 5207 1 Pink Electric, Grass
Muk 11200 2 Pink Psychic, Ground
Weezing 11245 2 Pink Psychic, Ground
Electabuzz 11311 2 Pink Ground
Magmar 11610 2 Pink Rock, Water
Exeggutor 12633 2 Pink Fire, Bug Ghost
Vaporeon 16696 3 Yellow Electric, Grass
Arcanine 17832 3 Yellow Water, Ground
Machamp 18144 3 Yellow Psychic
Gengar 19768 3 Yellow Dark, Ghost
Jolteon 19883 3 Yellow Ground
Flareon 21155 3 Yellow Water, Ground
Alakazam 22646 3 Yellow Dark, Ghost
Lapras 21768 4 Yellow Fighting, Grass, Electric
Blastoise 24162 4 Yellow Electric, Grass
Snorlax 25419 4 Yellow Fighting
Venasaur 26921 4 Yellow Fire, Psychic
Charizard 28485 4 Yellow Water, Ground
Rhydon 30512 4 Yellow Fighting
Tyranitar 34707 4 Yellow Fighting

It has yet to be confirmed, but tier 5 is expected to consist of Legendary Pokemon, such as Articuno, Zapdos, Mewtwo, Lugia and Ho-oh. This would line up with the original announcement trailer, which showed a group of trainers gathered in Times Square, all trying to defeat Mewtwo together.

Jacob started covering video games and technology in college as a hobby, but it quickly became clear to him that this was what he wanted to do for a living. He currently resides in New York writing for BGR. His previously published work can be found on TechHive, VentureBeat and Game Rant.

Popular News