Shortly after announcing that 360-degree photos can now be uploaded to the news feed, Facebook revealed that synced photos will soon be removed from the social network. According to the company, this move will make way for the Moments app, which launched on iOS and Android last summer.

READ MORE: Facebook will finally let you upload 360-degree photos

“The app groups your photos based on who’s in them and when they were taken,” the App Store description of the Moments app explains. “In one tap, you can send your photos to the right friends. Then, friends can add their photos to the moment. Now, everyone has all the photos you took together!”

An easy way to keep your synced photos is to download Moments and log in before July 7th. If you want to keep your synced photos without downloading the Moments app, you’re going to have to download them soon.

In order to download a synced photo, follow these steps:

  • Go to your profile page on Facebook
  • Click ‘Photos’
  • Click ‘Synced from phone’
  • Choose a photo you want to keep
  • At the bottom of the photo, click ‘Options’ then ‘Download’

According to a TechCrunch article from 2015, synced photos were originally supposed to go by the wayside in January, but it appears that Facebook is giving users one last chance to hop aboard the Moments train or download their photos.

View Comments