Preview
MLB 14: The Show Preview

Preview: ‘MLB 14: The Show’ gets you to the action faster

Preview: ‘MLB 14: The Show’ gets you to the action faster

By on March 7, 2014 at 9:10 AM.

It wasn’t until last year that I finally took a chance on baseball. It was the outcome of a single, crazy, stressful game early in the season that pulled me in, and over 100 games later, I was hooked. However, I could do without the endless pitch counts, which is why MLB 14: The Show might be the first baseball game I pick up since middle school. More →

No Comments
Preview
MacBook-Pro-Retina-13-inch-4

13-inch Retina MacBook Pro Preview

13-inch Retina MacBook Pro Preview

By on October 24, 2012 at 3:26 PM.

Apple (AAPL) famously introduced the world’s first Retina notebook a couple months back, but notably missing was it’s smaller 13-inch brother. Introduced yesterday at the company’s Fall event which also saw the introduction of the iPad mini, brand new iPad, iMac, and Mac mini, the 13-inch Retina MacBook Pro is already shipping to customers and available at some Apple retail locations. As much as I wanted to love the 15-inch version, coming from a 13-inch MacBook Air proved too difficult. The new 13-inch is a beautiful compromise, and only weighs half a pound more than the MacBook Air. The notebooks design is identical to the larger computer, so this makes two options for the best laptop Apple has ever made depending on your screen size preference. I don’t think it’s long before we see the MacBook Air simply turn into the MacBook, with the Retina MacBook Pro obviously just being MacBook Pro. Since I never reviewed the 15-inch laptop, I’m going to review the 13-inch, and I’m excited. More →

No Comments

Hands-on with the $499 Wikipad gaming tablet

Hands-on with the $499 Wikipad gaming tablet

By on September 27, 2012 at 1:25 PM.

Wikipad Hands-on

There’s a general stigma that tablets can’t and will never do “hardcore” gaming justice because they just don’t have actual buttons, analog sticks and shoulder triggers. As standalone slates, tablet’s will probably never fit the needs of a gamer, but Wikipad wants to change that. It’s a standalone Android tablet and it’s also an oversized gaming handheld. BGR sat down with James Bower, CEO of Wikipad, to gauge the device’s potential and see how well it works.

More →

No Comments

Barnes & Noble opens fire at Amazon with new NOOK HD, NOOK HD+ tablets (hands-on)

Barnes & Noble opens fire at Amazon with new NOOK HD, NOOK HD+ tablets (hands-on)

By on September 26, 2012 at 1:00 AM.

NOOK HD Release Date

The low-cost tablet space is heating up ahead of what many expect to be an October unveiling of Apple’s (AAPL) much rumored iPad mini, and two new entries into this competitive space have just been announced. Barnes & Noble (BKS) on Wednesday took the wraps off its all new NOOK HD and NOOK HD+ tablets, and they take aim squarely at the 7-inch and 8.9-inch Kindle Fire HD slates Amazon announced earlier this month. These new NOOKs pick up right where Barnes & Noble’s previous-generation tablets left off, but they offer a number of notable improvements over their predecessors — and over the competition as well.

More →

No Comments

iPhone 5 first impressions

iPhone 5 first impressions

By on September 20, 2012 at 6:19 PM.

Apple iPhone 5 first impressions

Apple’s iPhone 5 officially becomes available tomorrow at 8:00 a.m. local time, but we were able to get one just a little bit early. If you’re following along, you no doubt saw every review and article related to this phone (AAPL), so here’s an honest bit of first impressions from someone who kind of likes his iPhones…

More →

No Comments

The BGR Show – iPhone 5 preview

The BGR Show – iPhone 5 preview

By on September 20, 2012 at 11:33 AM.

The BGR Show iPhone 5 preview

There’s only one day left until Apple’s (AAPL) iPhone 5 touches down, but in case you just can’t wait any longer, we take a deep look at just how different the iPhone 5 is compared to the iPhone 4S in this week’s episode of The BGR Show. We also cover our favorite new iOS 6 features and detail the best way to pick up a new iPhone if you haven’t yet preordered one. Stay tuned for our iPhone 5 hands-on preview later today and something special that we have coming tomorrow… More →

No Comments

HTC’s Windows Phone 8X and 8S take the Windows Phone lead (hands-on)

HTC’s Windows Phone 8X and 8S take the Windows Phone lead (hands-on)

By on September 19, 2012 at 11:15 AM.

HTC Windows Phone 8X and 8S announced

HTC’s (2498) Windows Phone 8X and Windows Phone 8S are the company’s first real Windows Phone handsets. Sure, the Taiwan-based company has introduced some devices that run Windows Phone before, but it appears that HTC is finally taking Windows Phone seriously. And why shouldn’t it? HTC is getting pushed out of the Android game quite quickly, so it makes sense to diversify its handset portfolio with a different operating system, ecosystem and partner.

More →

No Comments

LG Optimus G hands-on

LG Optimus G hands-on

By on September 19, 2012 at 9:55 AM.

LG Optimus G Hands-On

The LG Optimus G announced on Tuesday is a beast of a smartphone. LG (06657011) held a press event on Wednesday in New York City to show off its latest quad-core smartphone and we were on hand to check it out. How does LG’s new 4.7-inch, Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich-powered smartphone with a monster 13-megapixel camera and 2,100 mAh battery feel? Read on to find out.

More →

No Comments

Samsung Galaxy Note II first impressions

Samsung Galaxy Note II first impressions

By on September 11, 2012 at 12:00 PM.

While I still think the Samsung Galaxy Note as a product is stupid, a lot of people seem to gravitate towards a bigger screen regardless of the fact that it’s impossible to use with one hand, and, well, you look crazy talking into a book. But, the Samsung (005930) Galaxy Note II is a nice upgrade to the original, completely putting aside my opinions on the product in general. It features an even larger display, yet the phone isn’t as wide thanks to a new 16:9 aspect ratio where the screen is taller and narrower, and the new design identity closely mirrors the Galaxy S III.

More →

No Comments

Hands-on with Verizon’s LG Intuition ‘phablet’

Hands-on with Verizon’s LG Intuition ‘phablet’

By on September 11, 2012 at 9:45 AM.

LG Intuition Hands-On

There’s nothing like some friendly competition to get the mobile wars going. Whether we love it or hate it, “phablets” — devices that are larger than most smartphones and smaller than tablets — are here to stay. Samsung’s (005930) 10 million-strong Galaxy Note and upcoming Note II are proof enough that people want and are willing to accept smartphones with oversized displays. LG (06657011) has officially joined the ‘phablet’ fray with its own stylus-packing, Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich-powered Intuition on Verizon (VZ). Unlike most run-of-the-mill 16:9 aspect ratio smartphones with 720p HD displays, the Intuition stands on its own legs with a radical 5.0-inch 4:3 aspect ratio display that makes it wider than any smartphone I’ve ever held. Read on for my first-impressions of Verizon’s new 4G LTE-equipped phablet.

More →

No Comments

Motorola’s DROID RAZR M is incredible, and it’s an iPhone 5 preview

Motorola’s DROID RAZR M is incredible, and it’s an iPhone 5 preview

By on September 6, 2012 at 9:30 AM.

DROID RAZR M Analysis

So… I like Android. I use just about every Android smartphone on and off, but my main phone is an iPhone 4S. One major complaint I have with Android is that the phones are just too big… seriously. First it was 4 inches, then 4.3 inches, then 4.5 inches, then 4.6 inches, then 4.7 inches, then 4.8 inches, then 5 inches, then 5.3 inches, then 5.5 inches — ugh. More →

No Comments
Preview
Motorola DROID RAZR M Hands-On

Motorola DROID RAZR M hands-on

By on September 5, 2012 at 4:01 PM.

Motorola DROID RAZR M hands-on

We’ve already taken a look at the dynamic duo Motorola unveiled during its press conference on Wednesday, but Motorola unveiled a third smartphone during the event that certainly warrants a closer look. The DROID RAZR M is an affordable smartphone that packs the kick of a much pricier handset. Beneath the remarkably sharp 4.3-inch edge-to-edge display lies a dual-core 1.5GHz Snapdragon processor, 8GB of storage, 1GB of RAM, an 8-megapixel rear camera, a 3-megapixel front-facing camera and Android 4.0, though Motorola has promised an update to Jelly Bean in the near future. The phone is a little bulky and the build isn’t the strongest you’ll come across, but it’s pretty amazing that Motorola managed to stuff this gorgeous 4.3-inch Super AMOLED display into a phone with about the same footprint as the iPhone 4S. Motorola’s DROID RAZR M will be available for preorder beginning Wednesday at 5:00 p.m. EDT, and it will launch on September 13th for $99.99 with a 2-year Verizon Wireless (VZ) contract.

No Comments