Apple’s iOS 10 software has been available for a while now. In fact, the latest version of Apple’s popular mobile platform is already installed on more than two-thirds of all active iOS devices in the world, and we’re likely less than a week away from seeing the next major build, iOS 10.1, released to the public. Tens of millions of people use iOS 10 each day, and yet Apple added so many new features to the platform that many people miss things they would actually benefit from a great deal.

Among the new features that often go unnoticed by many is the option to control iMessage read receipts on a per-contact basis. That’s right, you can stop specific contacts from knowing when or even if you read their messages. In this post, we’ll tell you exactly how to do it.

DON’T MISS: iPhone 7 Plus vs Google Pixel speed tests: Closer, but Android was still crushed in the end

Everyone knows that you can enable or disable read receipts across the board by opening the Settings app and toggling read receipts on or off from within the Messages menu. Most people want to leave them on, but there are always a few contacts who send you messages and you don’t want them to know if and when you’ve read them.

This is one of those iPhone and iPad features where, once you find out how easy it is, you want to kick yourself for not having noticed it before. Here’s all you need to do:

  • From within the Messages app, open a conversation with the contact in question
  • Tap the “i” in the top-right corner
  • On that screen, you’ll see a setting for “Send Read Receipts” — toggle it to off

That’s it. This setting will override your global setting and this specific contact will no longer know when you open his or her messages.