Relax, Facebook isn’t accidentally exposing old private messages

Facebook Security Breach Confirmed False

Facebook (FB) confirmed on Thursday that reports of users seeing old private messages displayed as public wall posts are incorrect. A Facebook spokesman told TechCrunch that users are confusing old public Wall posts as old private messages because “before 2009 there were no likes and no comments on wall posts. People went back and forth with wall posts instead of having a conversation [in the comments of single wall post].” The issues appears to have stemmed from the global rollout of Timeline. Facebook says it has conducted its own investigation and “is satisfied that there has been no breach of user privacy.” Despite Facebook’s official statements denying the reports, users are still reporting that their old messages are being exposed for all their friends to see. For those worried, TheNextWeb offers some advice on how to remove all old posts (public or private) from Timeline.

Read

blog comments powered by Disqus