Refurbed iPhones not so secure

Thinking about selling your iPhone in anticipation of the upcoming 3G launch? Proceed with caution. According to iPhone Atlas, “delted” user data is still able to be recovered by future owners. It seems that user data is held in unused portions of the device’s NAND memory, even after a full wipe has been executed. A recent attempt to mine data from a fresh-out-of-the-box refurbished unit revealed a significant amount of sensitive data, including emails, contacts, and more. To be fair, the miner recovered the data with professional grade forensics software, so you probably won’t have much to worry about from the average end-user, but it’s still something to be mindful of if you’re looking to sell your unit second hand.


View Comments